Rivet: (Another Post-Apocalyptic Game?!)

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Rivet

About Rivet:
Rivet is a Post-Apocalyptic single player FPS/Driving/Survival game. It is inspired after my watching Mad Max for the millionth time and having watched the plethora of 1980’s B movies out there with similar premises. I then posted on indiedb wondering why hasn’t such a game been made in which I received some positive responses as well as people telling me I would be sued.. which in response all I have to say is… why didn’t fallout get sued? or borderlands etc..? and then a helpful Australian who plans on contributing as well as some others to the game itself got in touch with me and I decided heck I really need to learn UDK better anyway so why not try to make this game! So far I am incredibly motivated and have collected tons of reference material/tutorials for udk/modeling etc.. / and now work has started on the game.

Why make another post-apocalyptic game?! Hasn’t the genre been done to death already?!

As much as I love the Fallout series/Borderlands/S.T.A.L.K.E.R/ and the other handfuls of post-apocalyptic games out there I just always wished there was a game that had a more involved driving game-play element along with being a first person shooter. And yes.. id software’s Rage is coming out… finally…… but from what I can tell of Rage it’s still not what I would love love love to play as a post-apocalyptic game.. although i will most definitely be playing Rage when it comes out.. But now that I am working on Rivet.. I wonder… will it be like everything else I start.. will a big company seemingly read my blog/see my game and steal my idea? Will Rivet end up being another one of those weird coincidences I have where I get an idea and a day later I find someone else is doing the same exact thing..? Probably!.. especially since its not the most unique idea for a game.. especially a FPS… since technically I cannot understand how a post-apocalyptic game like the ideas behind Rivet has not already been made..since I hope to make it what I and perhaps most people would expect a post-apocalyptic game to be.. and this just hasn’t been done… for whatever reason… at least it has not been done .. YET.. hopefully Rivet will be unique from the other games out there with similar premises not only because it sticks more to the original ideas of a post-apocalyptic setting but also because of the story and the game play..  and that is really a main focus of the game.. making it unique.. but familiar..

Rivet will be set in kinda an unknown time period years after a war that created an economic depression as well as nuclear damage to the Earth/society.. it will be taking cues from 1920’s technology & history… and to an extent its possible that the setting is kinda an alternate future-past of what could have happened during or after world war 1. The setting of the game takes place in a desert wasteland that will be modeled off of Australia and Route 66 in a 1920’s inspired time period… There will be ratrods.. or basically rusty hot rods from the 1920’s that have been customized/pieced together to traverse the hostile environment. There will be scavenging/surviving/raiders/thieves/murderers/gangs/new settlements/societies.. of course some guns but more so makeshift weapons/melee weapons. The game will be a more accurate version of a post-apocalyptic setting.. and sorry the main character will not be decked out in a black full leather suit.. since.. umm.. wouldn’t that be way too hot in the desert? But perhaps that can be a secret outfit to find… but it would come with consequences…. like needing to drink a lot more water!

Originally I had actually been planning on making a 2d side-scroller since that would seem to be the way to go as an indie game developer.. it wasn’t another post-apocalyptic game either.. it was going to be called Hypnagogia and it was going to be a weird esoteric game with meaning…. taking huge influence from Jonathan Blow’s Design REBOOT lecture.. which if you haven’t checked that out you really should… but the reason for making Rivet is really because it’s a game I would really like to play and see and experience and hopefully still include design reboot type aesthetics. Even though I know Rivet can’t be as ambitious as maybe I would like to be I still think a pretty good short single player game can be made out of it and maybe some day a full game will be created out of it.. if enough support is given to it…

Mainly I want to make Rivet because I still feel like there is a side of the post-apocalyptic genre being ignored and that side is.. what a post-apocalyptic game should be…. at least in my opinion…. and that has a lot to do with taking inspiration from movies from the 80’s.. like Mad Max/Steel Dawn/ A Boy & His Dog and Cherry 2000. I feel that Rivet can be unique even if it may just be considered another post-apocalyptic game at first glance..

– Brian

Leave a Reply

